Share this page!

Greetings, music aficionados! As we bid farewell to 2023, the music scene is slowly shaking off its holiday slumber, gearing up for 10 Most Anticipated Rock Albums of 2024. A year with fresh releases upon us, promising some big new tunes that will soon grace our playlists.

A brand new year, a clean slate, and the anticipation of albums from artists who, at one point, questioned if they’d bless us with their musical magic again. It’s a mix of officially confirmed albums, subtle hints dropped by artists and labels, a few hopeful guesses, and those musicians who’ve been teasing us with the promise of something new for a while.

Amidst the excitement of band releases, we’re in for an expected solo album: Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden is cooking up new material. And keep an eye out for the likes of MGMT, The Libertines, and the heavy metal gods, Judas Priest!


10 Most Anticipated Rock Albums of 2024

10 – Bruce Dickinson (The Mandrake Project)


One of the greatest heavy metal vocalists of all time, Bruce Dickinson, is gearing up for the release of his seventh solo album, “The Mandrake Project.” This highly anticipated album marks his first solo endeavor since “Tyranny Of Souls” in 2005. Get ready to immerse yourself in Dickinson’s powerful vocals when the album drops on March 1st.

For a chance to witness Bruce Dickinson’s presenting the album live, check out his tour schedule. You can find the complete list of tour dates and venues on the official website: The Mandrake Project Tour.


9 – The Libertines (All Quiet on the Eastern Esplanade)


Exciting news for fans of English garage rock! “All Quiet on the Eastern Esplanade” is the highly anticipated fourth studio album by The Libertines, set to hit the airwaves on March 8, 2024, through Virgin EMI. This marks a significant return, as it will be their first studio release in almost a decade since “Anthems for Doomed Youth” in 2015.

Check out the video for “Run Run Run” from their upcoming album, by watching the video here: Run Run Run – The Libertines.


8 – Sleater-Kinney (Little Rope)


Sleater-Kinney’s upcoming album, “Little Rope,” set for release on January 19, 2024, reflects a tumultuous creative journey marked by personal loss and political unease. The album, born from a place of mourning, especially resonates with Carrie Brownstein, who lost her mother and stepfather in a tragic accident while vacationing in Italy.

The profound grief found an outlet in the album, with the lead single “Hell” exploring societal injustices and a sense of helplessness. Produced by Grammy-winner John Congleton, the album is raw, and vulnerable, and notably features Corin Tucker taking on the majority of the vocals.


7 – IDLES (Tangk)


IDLES’ album “Tangk” is scheduled for release on February 16, 2024, and is a testament to love and power, crafted by vocalist Joe Talbot. Described as an album of gratitude, it’s a collection of infectious love songs designed to make people dance and feel the magic of connection.

The title, “Tangk,” represents the band’s vision for the guitars’ lashing sound. The surprise announcement came after a London show in October 2023, and the album will be supported by a world tour, kicking off in Hong Kong on December 1, 2023, and concluding in Manchester on December 7, 2024, at O2 Apollo.


6 – MGMT (Loss of Life)


“Loss of Life” follows 2018’s “Little Dark Age” and marks MGMT’s continuing musical evolution. Set to release on February 23 via Mom+Pop, co-produced by Andrew VanWyngarden, Ben Goldwasser, and Patrick Wimberly, the album features 10 tracks, including a collaboration with Christine and the Queens.


5 – The Smile (Wall of Eyes)


The Smile, comprising Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and drummer Tom Skinner, continues to captivate with their evolving chemistry in the post-Radiohead era. Their upcoming album, “Wall of Eyes,” will be released on January 26, 2024, through XL Recordings, marking a significant shift, being the first Yorke/Greenwood record in decades produced without Nigel Godrich.

Recorded in Oxford and Abbey Road Studios with Sam Petts-Davies, this album promises to reveal a new dimension of The Smile’s artistic identity.


4 – Deftones (TBA)

YouTube player
Deftones – “Be Quiet And Drive (Far Away)” (Official Video)

Deftones has given fans a glimpse of an anticipated album, potentially set for a 2024 debut. In a recent appearance on the Gnostic Academy podcast, guitarist Stephen Carpenter confirmed their collaboration with producer Nick Raskulinecz (known for Rush, Mastodon, and Alice In Chains.)

Working quietly throughout 2023, the band aims for a spring or summer 2024 release. This upcoming album marks Raskulinecz’s third venture with Deftones, following their successful collaborations on ‘Diamond Eyes’ (2010) and ‘Koi No Yokan’ (2012), and serves as the successor to their great 2020 release, ‘Ohms.’


3 – Judas Priest (Invincible Shield)


Judas Priest’s nineteenth studio album (!), “Invincible Shield,” hits the shelves on March 8, 2024, via Epic Records. With the blistering singles “Panic Attack” and “Trial by Fire,” the iconic metal gods showcase their enduring life.

Produced by guitarist Andy Sneap, who also worked on the acclaimed “Firepower” in 2018, this album promises to be a relentless force.


2 – Green Day (Saviors)


Green Day’s fourteenth studio album, “Saviors,” is set to rock the scene on January 19, 2024, through Reprise Records. Recorded in London and Los Angeles, the band collaborates with producer Rob Cavallo for the first time since 2012.

The lead single, “The American Dream Is Killing Me,” explores the failure of the traditional American Dream. With a stadium tour starting in May 2024, Green Day promises an electrifying musical journey alongside the Smashing Pumpkins, Rancid, and more.


1 – The Cure (Songs Of A Lost World)

YouTube player

The anticipation for The Cure’s fourteenth album, “Songs Of A Lost World,” continues to build as Robert Smith has reportedly spent the last two years tweaking tracks. Six new songs, including “And Nothing Lasts Forever,” “Endsong,” and “I Can Never Say Goodbye,” have been performed live, delving into themes of waiting, finality, and indecision.

Smith’s dedication to perfection has led to a desire to re-record some songs due to their challenging nature. Despite the emotionally intense and relentless nature of the album, 2024 holds the hope for a long-awaited release, marking a significant moment for The Cure’s devoted fanbase.


Is just a guy who got tired of bothering his friends talking about music, and decided to create a blog to write about what he loves the most.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments