Share this page!

The 2014 Academy Awards nominations were announced, with American Hustle and Gravity leading with 10 each. On the music category, Pharrell Williams is running for award with the song Happy’, integral part of the movie soundtrack ‘Despicable Me 2’. U2 are in the running with the song ‘Ordinary Love’, from the movie ‘Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom’, after a winning the Golden Globe Award for Best Song.

Nominee also for the same award is Karen O, with the song ‘The Moon Song’ part of the soundtrack for Spike Jonze movie ‘Her’. Bruce Broughton and Dennis Spiegel for ‘Alone Yet Not Alone’, from the movie with the same name and Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for ‘Let It Go’ part of the ‘Frozen’ soundtrack.

One movie that might seem missing from the Best Original Song category is the Coen Brothers ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ but with traditional folk songs, nonetheless its novelty song ‘Hey Mr. Kennedy’ got a Golden Globe nomination.

Nominated for ‘Best Original Score’ are in turn, John Williams (‘The Book Thief’), Steven Price (‘Gravity’), William and Owen Pallett (‘Her’), Alexandre Desplat (‘Philomena’) and Thomas Newman (‘Saving Mr. Banks’).

Also Jared Leto, frontman of 30 Seconds to Mars, was honored with a nomination in the category of Best Supporting Actor, for his role in the film ‘Dallas Buyers Club’.

In the category of Best Documentary appears again a movie linked to the music, such as last year’s winner, ‘Searching For Sugar Man’. We speak of ’20 Feet From Stardom’, a film that focuses on the background singers who were also making history of modern music.

The Academy Awards ceremony takes place on March 2 at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood.


Best Original Song
“Alone Yet Not Alone,” Alone Yet Not Alone; music by Bruce Broughton, lyrics by Dennis Spiegel
“Happy,” Despicable Me 2; music and lyrics by Pharrell Williams
“Let It Go,” Frozen; music and lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“The Moon Song,” Her; music by Karen O., lyrics by Karen O. and Spike Jonze
“Ordinary Love,” Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom; music by Paul Hewson, Dan Evans, Adam Clayton, and Larry Mullen, a.k.a. U2; lyrics by Paul Hewson, a.k.a. Bono

Best Original Score
John Williams, The Book Thief
Steven Price, Gravity
William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her
Alexandre Desplat, Philomena
Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks


Karen O –  ‘The Moon Song’


Pharrell Williams – ‘Happy’


U2 – ‘Ordinary Love’


The Moon Song karen o movie her oscar nominee

Robin thicke with pharrell williams

cover of the pharrell williams song happy

Karen O The Moon Song

u2 ordinary love single cover

despicable me 2 poster

mandela long walk to freedom poster movie

her movie with joaquin phoenix

frozen poster 2013

jared leto as rayon on Dallas Buyers Club



Is just a guy who got tired of bothering his friends talking about music, and decided to create a blog to write about what he loves the most.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments